The ITAPS Team

The Interoperable Technologies for Advanced Petascale Simulations center comprises researchers from nine institutions including six DOE laboratories (Argonne, Brookhaven, Lawrence Livermore, Oak Ridge, Pacific Northwest, and Sandia) and three universities ( Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute SUNY Stony Brook, and University of British Columbia). The PI of the ITAPS center is Lori Diachin (LLNL) who is supported by an executive committee consisting of the technical leads for each area of research and the institutional points of contact.

ITAPS Institutional Roles

Argonne National Laboratory. Argonne works on design optimization for accelerator applications, parallel mesh generation, deforming geometries, dynamic services, open source geometry, mesh to mesh transfer, parallel mesh and field interfaces.

Brookhaven National Laboratory. Brookhaven works with accelerator, fusion, and groundwater scientists, parallel AMR front tracking, conservative front tracking, and interface definition.

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. LLNL works on the development of mesh quality improvement tools, open source geometry, mesh-to-mesh transfer, parallel h-adaptivity, interpolation kernels, data comparison, interface definition, CCA compliance.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory. ORNL will work on parallel mesh-to-mesh transfer, parallel AMR, and LCF access and guidance.

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. PNNL will collaborate with groundwater application scientists and work on parallel mesh generation and adaptivity combined with front tracking

Rensselear Polytechnic Institute. RPI will collaborate with accelerator and fusion scientists, and work on parallel solution adaptive loops, dynamic services, parallel mesh and field interface, and mesh-to-mesh transfer.

Sandia National Laboratory. SNL will collaborate with accelerator scientists, mesh quality improvement algorithms and software, dynamic services, parallel mesh to mesh transfer

State University of New York, Stony Brook. SUNY Stony Brook will collaborate with accelerator and fusion scientists, and work on parallel AMR front tracking and the mesh and geometry interfaces

University of British Columbia. UBC will work on parallel mesh improvement algorithms and the parallel mesh and field interface.

ITAPS People

Name Institution Phone Email
Andrew Bauer RPI 518-276-8560 acbauer@scorec.rpi.edu
Michael Brewer SNL 505-844-8916 mbrewer@sandia.gov
Ed D'Azevedo ORNL 865-576-7925 e6d@ornl.gov
Karen Devine SNL 505-845-7585 kddevin@sandia.gov
Lori Diachin (PI) LLNL 925-422-7130 diachin2@llnl.gov
Brian Fix SUNY SB brian@ams.sunysb.edu
Jim Glimm BNL/SUNY SB 631-632-8355 glimm@ams.sunysb.edu
Bill Henshaw LLNL 925-423-2697 henshaw@llnl.gov
Ken Jansen RPI 518-276-6755 kjansen@scorec.rpi.edu
Craig Kapfer LLNL 925-424-6137 ckapfer@llnl.gov
Ahmed Khamayseh ORNL 865-241-4624 khamaysehak@ornl.gov
Patrick Knupp SNL 505-284-4565 pknupp@sandia.gov
Jason Kraftcheck U. Wisconsin (for SNL) 608-265-3953 kraftche@cae.wisc.edu
Xiaolin Li SUNY SB 631-632-8353 linli@ams.sunysb.edu
Xiaojnan Luo RPI 518-276-6409 xluo@scorec.rpi.edu
Mark Miller LLNL 925-423-5901 miller86@llnl.gov
Carl Ollivier-Gooch UBC 604-822-1854 cfog@mech.ubc.ca
Roman Samulyak BNL 631-344-3304 rosamu@bnl.gov
Mark Shephard RPI 518-276-8044 shephard@scorec.rpi.edu
Tim Tautges ANL 608-263-8485 tautges@mcs.anl.gov
Harold Trease PNNL 509-375-2602 het@pnl.gov